Promo: Derby Theatre. The Eagle Awards nominations and event.

The Eagle Awards 2018 Celebrating amateur theatre in Derby

Sunday 15 July, 7pm

Award nominees announced for The Eagle Awards 2018

On Sunday 15 July at 7pm the wealth of amateur theatre talent in Derby, and surrounding towns and villages, will be celebrated once again this year at Derby Theatre through The Eagle Awards 2018.

Derby is fortunate to have one of the country’s largest and most vibrant Amateur Theatre communities and awards, of a beautiful Eagle designed exclusively by Royal Crown Derby, will be presented to individuals who have excelled in key areas. Amateur translates as ‘for the love of it’ and The Eagle Awards celebrate, promote and recognise this love and the wonderful array of theatre it produces each year.

Caroline Barth (Head of Learning, Derby Theatre and Eagles coordinator) said: “Once again, we have seen an amazing array of shows and judging has been extremely tough! This year, for the awards evening itself, we have consulted with the participants and we are going to try something new: we have invited the companies to offer up extracts of their work, so thank you to those who have responded. We are in for a real treat all round!”

The nominations for 2018 include:

The Derby Telegraph Award for BEST PRODUCTION

Quarndon Amateur Dramatics Society Don’t Dress For Dinner. Belper Players Billy Liar. Fourblokes Theatre Company Cool Hand Luke. Locko Amateur Dramatic Society Straight & Narrow

The Malcolm Sircom Award for BEST PANTOMIME The Watson Players Rapunzel. The Enfield Players Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves. Drama Incorporated Aladdin Little Eaton Players Aladdin

The Gordon Bewley Award for BEST PRODUCTION OF A MUSICAL Beeston Musical Theatre Group Spamalot. Gatepost Theatre Company The Who’s TOMMY. The Cast Pippin. Kristian Thomas Company Footloose

The Timothy Dalton Award for BEST PERFORMANCE IN A PLAY Marie Stone in Straight and Narrow Locko Amateur Dramatic Society Rob Hodkinson in Wryd Sisters The Marlowe Players Josh Hayes in Cool Hand Luke Fourblokes Theatre Company Mik Horvath in Billy Liar Belper Players

The Phil Treece Award for BEST PERFORMANCE IN A PANTOMIME Stephanie Ashford in Snow White Chellaston Players Fraser Morton in Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves The Enfield Players Natasha Cartwright in Aladdin Drama Incorporated Richard Kirkland in Aladdin Little Eaton Players

The Gwen Taylor Award for BEST PERFORMANCE IN A MUSICAL Tom Simpson in Footloose Kristian Thomas Company Sian Scattergood in Pippin The Cast Kirsty Vastenavondt in Avenue Q Gatepost Theatre Company George Mercer in Pippin The Cast

The Jo Davison Award for BEST NEWCOMER Chris Collington (Director of The Who’s TOMMY) Gatepost Theatre Company Rebecca Pearcy (Director of Sister Act) Belper Musical Theatre Beth Yearsley (Director of Jekyll & Hyde) Beeston Musical Theatre Jo Homer (Director of Funny Money) The Nods Theatre Company

The Brian Glazebrook Award for OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT Flying High Flying High Gang Show (Production) The Cast Pippin (Chris Collington for Direction) The Nods Theatre Company Old Actors Never Die (Sheila Sly for learning lines in two weeks) Long Eaton Operatic Society Whistle Down The Wind (Fluidity of scene changes)

The Eagles’ Judges Award for The Best Contribution by a Young Person Harrison Ince in The Who’s TOMMY Gatepost Theatre Company All the cast of children in Whistle Down the Wind Long Eaton Operatic Society Katherine Haywood Brown in Aladdin Drama Incorporated Lily Osvath in Snow White Chellaston Players

The Ken and Barbara Pipes Award for Exceptional Contribution to amateur theatre will also be presented, and announced, on the evening.

Presenters and acts who will perform on the evening will be announced in due course.

All tickets for The Eagle Awards 2018 are £10, concessions £8. For more information and to book tickets call the Derby Theatre Box Office on 01332 593939 or book online at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.